Help Set Your Toddler Up For Literary Success…. In Five Minutes

If you walk into my house, the first thing you might notice is the chaos and disorder, but once the shock had worn off, your eyes would probably move to the alphabet poster I have hung up on my wall. It’s right in the entry way and it’s there for a reason. It’s there so that every time my two-year old and I leave or return to our house, he sees the letters. Soon enough he began to ask about them and we would sing the alphabet song. He would point at the pictures, we would talk about them and I would name the letters.

Here is the alphabet poster I bought off Amazon when my son was about 6 months old:

Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 1.49.51 PM.png

I like this poster for two reasons. The pictures are easily recognizable for children (nothing too obscure…except for the w which has a wigwam pictured). This means that, as my child’s vocabulary increases and he starts to name the pictures, I will be able to casually mention something like, “oh yes! Duck starts with d!”

I also like this alphabet poster because all the pictures/words chosen for the vowels (a,e,i,o, and u) have short vowel sounds. This is important because the short vowel sounds are what children learn first in preschool and kindergarten. We don’t need to be confusing kids with all these different vowel sounds right off the bat. Here are the short vowel sounds present in the poster:

A says /a/ as in apple

E says /e/ as in elephant

I says /i/ as in igloo

O says /o/ as in octopus

U says /u/ as in umbrella

Even if you don’t decide to get this particular poster steer clear of the posters that use the long vowel sounds. This might look like an acorn for a or unicorn for u. Children learn the long vowel sounds in 1st grade and they’re much more complicated to read. Keep it simple to start!

The poster that I bought cost $7.99 (+ tax + $3.99 shipping). Yes it’s a lot for an alphabet poster but I think it’s worth it. The link is below:

Alphabet Poster

Thank you for reading!!

Leave a Reply

